National Women's Soccer League announces 2014 NWSL Awards

(Aug. 20, 2014) - The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the list of 2014 NWSL Awards featuring the Golden Boot, Most Valuable Player, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Best XI. The 2014 NWSL Awards will be voted upon by owners, general managers, coaches, players and the media.

Fans are encouraged to support their favorite players via Facebook and Twitter using the hash tags: #NWSLMVP, #NWSLDOY, #NWSLGOY, #NWSLROY, #NWSLCOY and #NWSLBestXI.

All 2014 NWSL Award winners will be announced in the days leading up to the NWSL Championship game on Sunday, August 31 at 3 p.m. ET on ESPN2. Below is the complete awards announcement schedule.

2014 NWSL Awards - Announcement Schedule:

Thursday, Aug. 21: Golden Boot (#NWSLGB)

Friday, Aug. 22: Rookie of the Year (#NWSLROY)

Monday, Aug. 25: Goalkeeper of the Year (#NWSLGOY)

Tuesday, Aug. 26: Defender of the Year (#NWSLDOY)

Wednesday, Aug. 27: Coach of the Year (#NWSLCOY)

Thursday, Aug. 28: MVP (#NWSLMVP)

Friday, Aug. 29: Best XI (#NWSLBestXI)

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and the U.S. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Federation of Mexican Football and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at

Official Partners













Dev Academy